Stefan Struve reflects on his health issues, looks forward to UFC Fight Night 87 - MMA News Source - MMA coverage 24/7

UFC

Stefan Struve reflects on his health issues, looks forward to UFC Fight Night 87

on

Stefan Struve (30-8) is set to fight Antonio Silva (19-8, 1NC) at UFC Fight Night 87 in a heavyweight bout and spoke with MMA Fighting to promote the fight. During the interview, Struve spoke about being diagnosed with an enlarged heart and a bicuspid aortic valve in 2013.

“Everything kind of fell apart for me after the fight with Stipe [Miocic]. In my opinion, the fight with Mark [Hunt], I lost that one because my heart condition was at its worst at that point and I was pretty sick before the fight. That together just led to my body quitting on me in the fight. To be honest with you guys that was the biggest hurdle I had to overcome in my training. I never really worry about fighting. But in the fight with Alistair Overeem, not so much in the fight with Nogueira because I got going, but also in the fight with Rosholt I had trouble finding my rhythm and I was constantly thinking about ‘should I hit the gas now or should I just wait until the second round? You don’t want to get tired like that fight with Hunt where your body gave up.’ I never really got super tired in that fight because my conditioning is good and we always make sure I’m in tip top shape. But that fight with Hunt, my body just quit on me and I had to hang on for like ten minutes and wasn’t able to do much and he was just battering me, beating me. How my body felt that fight was such a scary experience. That was the biggest hurdle to overcome, to be able to hit the gas in the fight and start hunting immediately and that’s exactly what I did this training camp so that makes me feel really good.”

When asked how he feels now,“I feel really good. I think I’m faster. If I fight with my reach and get my jab going and my teep going then he’s in for a hard night and I’m going to drop him….I’m walking around at 275. My gas tank feels great. Everything is there you know. When I entered the UFC I was 230 pounds. I feel so strong and dominated in sparring so much, I couldn’t be more ready for this fight to put on the best performance in front of my family and friends.”

UFC Fight Night 87 takes place on May 8th in Rotterdam, Netherlands at the Ahoy Rotterdam arena. The preliminary card will begin on UFC Fight Pass with three fights at 10:30 a.m. ET/7:30 a.m. PT and the final four preliminary bouts will be shown on FOX Sports 1 at 12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT. The main card will air on FOX Sports 1 at 2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT.



Recommended for you