Daniel Omielanczuk picks up decision victory at UFC Fight Night 91 - MMA News Source - MMA coverage 24/7

UFC

Daniel Omielanczuk picks up decision victory at UFC Fight Night 91

on

Alexey Oliynyk and Daniel Omielanczuk met in a heavyweight bout at UFC Fight Night 91. This one went the distance, but it was a solid fight.

In round 1, both guys came out swinging before Oliynyk worked for a takedown and got it. Oliynyk got half guard and worked him over with strikes. Omielanczuk tried to get him off of him but just couldn’t. Omielanczuk stood up with a minute and twenty left in the round. Oliynyk landed some big elbows in the clinch. Oliynyk took him down and got his back to end the round. In round 2, Omielanczuk tagged him three times in the first 15-seconds of the round and then took him down. Oliynyk was bleeding from his nose. Oliynyk stood up and worked for a takedown. He got moments later and got half guard. In round 3, Olinyk worked for a takedown, but Omielanczuk shut him down. Omielanczuk scored a takedown and got on top in half guard. Oliynyk scrambled to his feet and got a takedown with two minutes to go. Oliynyk got his back.

The judges awarded Omielanczuk the decision victory.

Oliynyk (50-10-1) is currently on a one-fight losing streak. In his last six bouts, he has beaten Jeff Monson at OC 67 by second round submission, Dio Staring at ProFC 50 by first round submission, Mirko Cro Cop at Legend 2 by first round submission, Anthony Hamilton at UFC Fight Night 44 by first round submission and Jared Rosholt at UFC Fight Night 57 by first round KO. He lost to Daniel Omielanczuk at UFC Fight Night 91 by decision.

Omielanczuk (19-5-1, 1NC) is currently on a three-fight winning streak. In his last six bouts, he’s 4-2. Nandor Guelmino at UFC 165 by third round KO, but lost to Jared Rosholt at UFC Fight Night 39 by decision and Anthony Hamilton at UFC Fight Night 64 by decision. He beat Chris de le Rocha at UFC Fight Night 72 by first round TKO and Jaris Danho at UFC Fight Night 84 by third round decision. He beat Alexey Oliynyk at UFC Fight Night 91 by decision.

UFC Fight Night 91 took place on Wednesday, July 13 at Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls, SD. The main card aired on FOX Sports 1 at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT while the prelims aired on FS1 at 7 p.m. ET/4 pm. PT and UFC Fight Pass at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT.



Recommended for you