Dana White: Win or lose, Conor McGregor will defend his featherweight title next - MMA News Source - MMA coverage 24/7

UFC

Dana White: Win or lose, Conor McGregor will defend his featherweight title next

on

UFC President Dana White dropped some big news during an interview with UFC.com. According to White, UFC featherweight champion Conor McGregor will go back down to 145 to defend his title after his rematch with Nate Diaz at UFC 202.

“I fully expect Conor to come back and defend his 145-pound title,” White said. “I think that Nate feels his brother should have the fight at 170, but Nick is not going to come back and fight for the title right away. There are other guys deserving of a title shot. Stephen ‘Wonderboy’ Thompson is going to fight for the 170-pound title and then we’ll see what happens with Nick and Nate.”

“I spent so much time with that man and he pulled out,” said McGregor, referring to a canceled title bout at UFC 189 that resulted in an interim title win over Chad Mendes. “Then we finally got into it and it took me one shot to the crown to shut his lights out. So I don’t know what he’s thinking. Right now, I’m prepared for a war and that’s that.”

UFC 202 takes place on Saturday, August 20th, 2016, at the T-Mobile Arena Las Vegas, Nevada. The UFC Fight Pass prelims will start at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT while the FOX Sports 1 prelims will start at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT, and the main card will start on PPV at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

 



Recommended for you